You are reading the Super One Series archive website, this is no longer being updated from 11.5.10 but is maintained for archive news and results.  Please visit for the new website from May 2010. 

The UK’s premier karting championship promotes the following national kart championships in three parallel series. 


More of the splendid trophies on offer


Play the promotional 2007 video from


The longest standing national motor racing championship, administrated by the same team, Super One was founded back in 1983. Highlights from the first Super One round held at Snetterton included Andrew Clark taking the inaugural 100 Senior Britain spoils whilst Paul Fletcher took a 100 National front row position, but lost the win when he came off at the first corner.  Daughter Nicky came third.  Jeremy Cottrell won the Junior International class whilst Touring Car ace Jason Plato was fifth.

In 1983 the series catered for four classes, two junior and two senior. Today, Super One boasts in excess of 500 competitors, racing across 18 rounds throughout the UK. In 2008, it will cater for seven junior classes, including the prestigious MSA British Junior Kart Championships (KF3), and seven senior classes, including the MSA British Kart Championship (KF1), the pinnacle of UK karting.  The series has hosted the two MSA British championships and the ABkC national championships continuously since 1990. 

It should be emphasised that the Super One Series awards the seeded numbers 1 - 15 in all KF, Rotax and TKM classes, and with the sole exception of the MSA British Cadet Championship, these are the only 1 - 15 numbers that are permitted to be used by drivers at the thirty ABkC clubs throughout the U.K. in these direct drive classes.   Numbers from other series are not permitted to be used at club racing.  There is one exception, the numbers from Comer Cadet Super One must be preceded with an S, to differentiate from the MSA British Cadet Championship series.  Here is the list of authorised seeded numbers.


The Renault Elf/B4 S1 Series is split into three sections to provide 19 rounds of top level national racing at circuits throughout the country, with 6 rounds for each section (7 for the 'MSA' Series) to cope with the ever increasing number of competitors who want to race at the highest levels.  Registration is £130, entry fees including Saturday morning practice £160 per meeting, control fuel is supplied in 25 litre cans (£117.50) for the Super KF, KF2 and KF3 classes at 102 octane, and to Super Unleaded standard (10 litre can is £43) for the other classes.  (Please note that the oil used in the Comer Cadet class must be Shell Super M.)  Friday practice is optional at extra cost - varies according to circuit but a maximum of £45, and official practice takes place all Saturday mornings.

The MSA British Championship series, sponsored by StingrayRV, includes the top junior and senior B4/Renault MSA British title classes Super KF and KF3 along with the ABkC National championship for Cadets and KF2 (which shares the sponsorship title).  The timetables for the meetings and race details can be found in the regulations, which can be downloaded from this page.

The ABkC Formula TKM series of 6 rounds will include classes for junior TKM and senior TKM Extreme 2 stroke karts, as well as the senior class for the TKM 4-stroke engine (the junior class is not running in 2010), which are now upgraded to full ABkC national championship status.  The Honda Cadet ABkC championship was added in 2006.

The ABkC Rotax series of 6 rounds, sponsored by StingrayRV, will be for the four Rotax classes for juniors and seniors, Rotax Max, Max 177, Rotax Junior Max and MiniMax.

Only classes with sufficient entries are run. Only members of ABkC clubs may enter the ABkC championships.

Detailed regulations can be found above, giving details of timed qualifying, heats and finals for each series.

The total prize fund for the series is around the value of £80,000 including the prizes that are paid at each event.  The Association of British Kart Clubs, through its contracts with the tyre suppliers (Dunlop / Anderson-CSK, Bridgestone/ Zip, Vega / JAG and Maxxis / Tal-Ko) gives around £28,000 in cash prizes to the drivers.

Series organiser Neil Hann commented in 2008: "We have talked at length to teams and drivers to understand their needs. "We have made these changes to have three parallel sections to allow the series to grow in line with the demands of our competitors. We stress that each series is seen as running in parallel with the emphasis on equal billing for all. What this does is to allow us more championship events and the ability to cater for more drivers within a suitably controlled meeting.

Each class has different needs and we feel we can better assist in the smooth running of events by taking this approach."

Go back to -