





Fulbeck TKM ABkC Championships Round 1

A new-look Super One with heats on Saturday, a tyre changing challenge on Saturday evening, live timing on a large screen in the pits, and grid girls decked out in transparent wet suits. The races were much longer too, and it all seemed to be very well received. The new results software allows drivers to easily compare times with others, whilst a new and colourful A4 sized programme caught the attention.

Oliver Hodgson dominated Junior TKM, with Daniel Burton storming through to 2nd, whilst 3rd placed Ash Crossey was excluded. In Extreme Tom Oliphant took advantage of the front row pair's woes whilst Ryan Cole recovered well for 2nd from a heat mishap. Carly Latcham replicated her 2008 junior win in Senior 4-stroke after Michael Rich lost his chain. In the junior category, William Thomas led a fairly processional final. Daniel Ticktum was a delighted Honda Cadet winner.

Tal-Ko ABkC Formula Jnr. TKM

Heat winners: Sam Grogan, Oliver Hodgson x2, Thomas Stanway

A Final: As the front row pair of Hogdson and Ashley Crossey led away with Grogan and Sophie Lanc squabbling over third, Daniel Burton was flying through the pack from his 12th place start. By the end he'd achieved 2nd, still 14s down on Hodgson. Crossey was excluded from the meeting for a partially stuck in piston ring.

Results: Hodgson, Burton, Grogan,



Winner Oliver Hodgson

Tal-Ko ABkC TKM Extreme

Heat winners: James Bartlett x 3, Randal Lynn x 2.

A Final: Poleman Bartlett went wide with his wrong tyre choice then steadily fell down the order,

leaving Tom Oliphant with a big lead. Ryan Cole, recovering from a heat black flag, made big inroads to within 2s of the win, David Eadon 3rd in the slippy conditions. The guesting F2 driver Jason Moore had lost none of his karting skills for 4th whilst Will Waterman recovered to 5th from 20th after a heat off

Results: Oliphant, Cole, Eadon, Moore, Will Waterman

Tal-Ko Formula TKM 4-stroke

Heat winners: Michael Rich x3, Jake Clifford



Winner Carly Latcham Images courtesy <u>www.kartpix.net</u>

A Final: During the first false start, red-flagged, front row man Rich spun in the chicane. Leading out of the same chicane later, his chain came off, leaving Carly Latcham to repeat her junior win of last year. She was chased hard by Tom Truscott, but he was excluded from the meeting for an out of tolerance ignition timing, elevating the hard charging Michael West, who had taken Clifford on the short pits straight.

Results: Latcham, West, Clifford, Brendan Carton, Steven Welsh

Tal-Ko F. Junior TKM 4-stroke

Heat winners: William Thomas, Miles Murphy x2, Max Haynes

A Final: Thomas and Cavan Corcoran emerged out of the bitterly cold wet conditions in grid order, and there they stayed, tailed throughout by Haynes. Liam Jones lost out to Luke Rosewell towards the end after which Thomas celebrated his maiden S1 win.

Results: Thomas, Corcoran, Haynes, Luke Rosewell, Liam Jones

ABkC Honda Cadet

Heat winners: Daniel Ticktum x2, Jack Mitchell x2

S1 Web Link: http://www.s1series.co.uk

A Final: A bit of a slide in the chicane let Mitchell alongside Ticktum as they battled round the pits complex, Mitchell ahead. But Ticktum had the pace to pass, Mitchell succumbing to Luke Knott, whilst Billy Chaplin traded fourth with Jack Bartholomew. After a grassy trip on the first lap, Jamie Caroline came back to split them for fifth

Results: Ticktum, Knott, Mitchell, Billy Chaplin, Jamie Caroline



Winner Daniel Ticktum

Fulbeck fulminations

After a beautifully sunny morning, the first rain shower arrived just before noon, and more swept across the circuit for the rest of the day.

TKM Extreme driver Charlie Bruce-White was excluded for disobeying an official. He had come off at the start, and against the wishes of the Clerks restarted later. His appeal was not upheld.

Honda Cadet driver Alex Lecuyer was excluded from the meeting for having a modified brake disc. He also had an exclusion for a driving offence. Curtis Mitchell escaped with a heat exclusion for having mistakenly transposed figures on his engine number. C-plated Fraser O'Brien had a setback when he was excluded from the second heat. A couple of drivers were caught out underweight after the longer races. Extreme driver Dean Golba won his appeal against exclusion from the first heat.

Congrats to Shaun Carter who won the first of the Super One tyre changing contests, with a time of 48.99s. World record next time?

The next round is at Glan y Gors on 11/12 April.