







CHAMPIONSHIPS

Shenington Rotax ABkC Championships Round 5

All titles remain to be played out at the last round, following some thrilling races, especially in the Junior Max category.



ABkC MiniMax

Qualifying: Rob Holland (44.11s), Sam Ward, Ashley England Heat winners: Holland x 2, Ward Final 1: Early leader Rob Holland fell to the back after clipping another kart when Sam Ward came by to lead. Ward went onto win despite sparring with Jack Barlow, Kyle Fowlie and Jordan Houghton.

Results: Ward, Houghton, Fowlie, Harry Crawley, Barlow

Final 2: Ward and Fowlie traded the lead throughout, Fowlie first over the line after pushing Ward wide at the last corner, but the apologetic driver was awarded a one place penalty. Holland roared up from 16th to 3rd.



Sam Ward, MiniMax
Results: Ward, Fowlie, Holland,
Houghton, Zubair Houque

ABkC Rotax Junior Max

Qualifying: Matthew Parry (42.52s), Shaun Pirie, Ed Brand Heat winners: Parry, Alex Magee, Brand

Repechage: Ben Palmer, Alessandro Latif, Dominic Wheatley, Thomas Ford

Final 1: The first aborted start did for Henry Hunter with a bent axle. Parry made a break stick, with Josh Webster succumbing to Jack Dex.

Results: Parry, Dex, Webster, Magee, Lee Napolitano

Final 2: Another red flag interrupted proceedings, and this time Parry had to settle for 3rd after trading the lead with eventual winner Dex and Billy Albone with Brand coming through at the end for 2nd.



Results: Dex (above), Brand Parry, Webster, Napolitano

ABkC Rotax Max

Qualifying: Mike Spencer (41.98s), Luke Varley, Joseph Reilly Heat winners: Spencer x 2, Daniel Graham

Repechage: Stefan Di Resta, David Richardson, Sam Smithson, Curt Holmes

Final 1: Spencer enjoyed an untroubled 5s win over Dan Holland who had had to come from the back after a black flag in a heat. Simpson lost 3rd on the last corner, Varley inheriting after judicial adjustments

Results: Spencer, Holland, Varley, Simpson, John Stewart

Final 2: Once past Reilly and Varley, Simpson chipped away at Spencer's large lead.



Mike Spencer, Senior Max All images courtesy www.kartpix.net

Results: Spencer, Simpson, Varley, Reilly, Graham

ABkC Rotax Max 177

Qualifying: Lewis Turner (42.82s), Harry Cockill, David Griffiths Heat winners: Griffiths, Turner Final 1: Harry Cockill charged back into winning contention after a heat exclusion for a too-wide

S1 Web Link: http://www.s1series.co.uk

kart, deposing the battling Lucas Orrock and Turner, with Griffiths beating both.

Results: Cockill, Griffiths, Turner, Orrock, Carl Churchill

Final 2: Cockill enjoyed a dominant victory, with Orrock breaking clear of the 2nd place battle, Luke Woodland up to 3rd.

Results: Cockill, Orrock, Woodland, Griffiths, Robert Campbell



Banbury Babblings

Eloise Lecuyer was excluded from the meeting following a heated altercation with a fellow female race after an on-track incident. Lecuyer had six penalty points added to her licence.

A last corner incident in the first senior Max final continued on the pit lane, the result being that Joseph Reilly had a four place penalty, Michael Simpson a £100 fine, and Daniel Graham a reprimand and two points on his licence.

Edward Brand in Junior Max and Tom D'Arcy in MiniMax were both excluded from heats due to non-working Uniloggers, a missing ignition lead and missing wheel speed pickup magnet the culprits respectively. Shaun Pirie was also excluded from a Junior Max heat when his clutch was found to be excessively slipping.

The next Rotax round is on 19/20 September at PF International.

Roundups TKM Rnd 5 @ Ellough Park

Oliver Hodgson continued his winning ways in Junior TKM and probably cannot be beaten to the title now. Jamie Caroline is in a similar position in Honda Cadet, with a clean sweep of wins. TKM









CHAMPIONSHIPS

Extreme was a much closer run affair, Randal Lynn the winner after some fancied runners came off at the start. Steven Welsh led a train of six senior 4-stroke karts over the line, blanketed by a mere second.

MSA Rnd 5 @ Nutts Corner



Wet tyre wear and set-up were crucial to Elliot Burton's KF1 success, as he relieved Robert Foster-Jones of the lead, with Richard Bradley following. In KF2, KF2 CIK European sadly Champion Jordan Chamberlain was sidelined after a heat start accident, leaving Shaun Carter to take the honours. Jake Ball took advantage of others mistakes to come second whilst Chris Lock was excluded. Alexander Albon dominated KF3 once more, with Sennan Fielding clawing back into second and dropping away at the start. Alex Gill made his move on Connor Jupp mid-race for the win, with George Russell also through. All the second finals were cancelled by the MSA Steward, due to the torrential rain shower. The competitors had received a tremendous welcome from the Ulster Kart Club and Antrim Council in the first S1 visit for 9 years.