







S1 Rotax National Championships

Motorsport

Larkhall Rotax ABkC Championships Round 4

The Super One Series is now the first championship in the world to use the clutch data logging in the Rotax classes. It proved to be a great success providing close racing on a level playing field. JAG and S1 have both made big investments but are getting a great return in having happy customers. S1 would like to thank all the competitors for their own investment and co-operation as they have had an especially tough time with changes this year. Also S1 sends a big thank you to Unipro for their help in putting this fantastic system together.

Jack Barlow and Harrison Scott shared the MiniMax wins, but Jack Dex proved unbeatable in Junior Max. Similarly Michael Simpson returned to top form in senior Max, never beaten all weekend, whilst in Max 177 Tom Holland claimed a maximum points haul.

ABkC MiniMax

Qualifying: Harry Crawley (39.40). Jack Barlow, Zubair Houque Heat winners: Harrison Scott, Nathan Harrison, James Singleton Repechage: Ryan Norris, Charlie Michael Gordon, Robertson, William Foster



Jack Barlow, MiniMax

Final 1: Barlow worked his way to the front, followed by Kyle Fowlie, until relieving Scott of the lead with a few laps in hand. reached third, but succumbed to Harrison on the last lap.

Results: Barlow, Scott, Harrison, Fowlie, Rob Holland

Final 2: After tracking Barlow for much of the race, Scott snatched the lead with just over a lap to run. Barlow found himself shuffled down to fourth, behind Crawley and Harrison.



Harrison Scott, MiniMax Results: Scott, Crawley, Harrison, Barlow, Holland

ABkC Rotax Junior Max

Qualifying: Matthew Parry 38.22), Ollie Varney,

Heat winners: Matthew Parry, Edward Brand x 2.

Repechage: Lewis Seville, George Hember. Jamie Gair, George Williams.

Final 1: Four laps in, Jack Dex took control, with Ashley Hand soon following on past poleman Edward Brand. Hand's exclusion for a slipping clutch elevated the rest. Parry, the other front row man, slumped to 12th in the early stages and only recovered one place.



Results: Dex (above), Brand, Henry Hunter, Shaun Slavin, Billy Albone

Final 2: Brand was shuffled right down the order at the start, and only managed to salvage what became fifth after Albone was excluded from second for a slipping clutch, from giving the leader a hard challenge. traded the lead with Hunter until again taking command, whilst Hunter fell to 12th. Lee Napolitano recovered well to second after missing a heat.

Results: Dex, Napolitano, Parry, Slavin, Brand

ABKC Rotax Max

Qualifying: Michael Simpson (37.96), Stefan Di Resta, Luke

Heat winners: Simpson x 2, John Stewart

Final 1: Simpson and Varley run one-two all through, with Mike Spencer falling off the leaderboard after a clash with Daniel Graham at the Pits corner, the latter later penalised. Then Tom Fawcett passed Dan Holland for third.

Results: Simpson, Varley. Fawcett, Holland, Lee Jenner Final 2: Yet again Simpson enjoyed a lights to flag victory, whilst Varley endured an engine failure. That left Matthew Mason



Michael Simpson, Senior Max All images courtesy www.kartpix.net

Results: Simpson, Mason, Stewart, Fawcett, Holland

ABkC Rotax Max 177

Qualifying: Tom Holland (38.62). Florent Lambert, Lucas Orrock Heat winners: Holland, Harry Cockill

Final 1: Harry Cockill led almost all the way, until Holland found an opening on the last lap to win, with Luke Woodland on their tails.

Results: Holland (pictured below), Cockill. Luke Woodland. Lewis Turner, Robert Campbell



S1 Web Link: http://www.s1series.co.uk









CHAMPIONSHIPS

Final 2: Holland kept it all together for a lights to flag victory, despite the race being punctuated by a stoppage to attend to a crash involving Jacques Evans and Russell Walsh, David Griffiths also retiring mid-distance, from third. Orrock sped up from grid 9 to beat Cockill into runner-up spot. Results: Holland, Orrock, Cockill,

Woodland, Turner

Scottish Snippets

Ashley Hand was the first to fall to the new Unilogger clutch logging, when his clutch started to slip from 11 minutes onwards in the first Junior Max final, with Billy Albone suffering the same penalty of exclusion from the race in the second final.

Florent Lambert was excluded from the meeting when a modified spark plug was found after his first Max 177 heat. George Line was excluded from MiniMax TQ for incorrect dimensions on his kart and Ryan Norris for a driving offence in Heat 2.

The next Rotax round is on 29/30 August at Shenington.

Roundups

TKM Rnd 4 @ Clay Pigeon

Oliver Will van Es took command of the Junior TKM final then fought off a challenge by Oliver Hodgson. Charlie Bruce-White kept ahead of the squabbling pack in Extreme for his second win whilst Adam Nichols did the same in senior 4stroke after trading the lead with Daniel Rogers. Miles Murphy clung to Will Thomas' tail throughout without getting a lookin, whilst in Cadets Jamie Caroline sailed to victory with Daniel Ticktum on his bumper.

MSA Rnd 4 @ Whilton Mill

The competition was fierce as always, with Jordan Chamberlain's winning run in KF2 coming to an end for the second final, with a new winner emerging in the shape of Chris Lock, whilst Rob Foster-Jones had his maiden victory in KF1, Ben Cooper taking the other on his charge for the title. Alex Gill had a mighty run through from the back to win the second Cadet final, Matthew Graham victorious in the first. Alexander Albon was simply unbeatable in KF3.