

## **CHAMPIONSHIPS**

**S1 Rotax National Championships** 

# **Rowrah Rotax ABkC Championships Round 2**

Harrison Scott accepted the MiniMax win, when the erstwhile leaders tangled in the first final.



Harrison Scott, MiniMax All images courtesy www.kartpix.net

Come the second final, Jack Barlow arrowed back to the front after his penalty, Scott second. Edward Brand had everything under control in Junior Max, until the start of the second final. His engine stopped, repairs took too long, leaving Ashley Hand to take full advantage of his absence. The very experienced Mike Spencer and Michael Simpson were joined in the lead battles by Luke Varley in senor Max. Spencer had the first pole but had to settle for two thirds, Varley and Simpson sharing the wins. Lucas Orrock took the first Max 177 win, before Harry Cockill overcame some setbacks to storm to the front in the second final.



Rowrah Clubhouse

Despite some mixed weather on Saturday, it all dried up on Sunday morning for some excellent slick shod racing at one of the competitors' favourite tracks.

### ABkC MiniMax

Qualifying: Sam Ward (47.82), Harry Crawley, Michael Gordon Heat winners: Harrison Scott, Ward, Scott, Corby Gormley Repechage: Ashley England, Jordan Houghton, Bobby Thompson, Thomas Prior. Final 1: Polesitter Scott lost his lead mid race to Kyle Fowlie, who had sped up from grid 7, dicing with Jack Barlow all the way. The pair tangled out of the second hairpin, Barlow later docked 4s to place him 12<sup>th</sup> behind the delayed Fowlie. That gave Scott the win from Singleton and Crawley, who thus leaped ten places.

Results: Scott, Singleton, Crawley, Charlie Robertson



Jack Barlow wins, MiniMax

Final 2: Determined to make amends, Barlow sped up to 4<sup>th</sup> in as many laps, found a way past Crawley to track the dicing Scott and Singleton. Fowlie had a less happy time, a poor start followed by a climb to 9<sup>th</sup> before plummeting down the order. Despite losing places initially, Houghton converted his B Final win to 10<sup>th</sup> in the first final to a splendid 5<sup>th</sup>. Although temporarily impeded by a back marker, Barlow regrouped and leapfrogged into the win.



Results: Barlow, Scott, Singleton, Crawley, Houghton

### ABkC Rotax Junior Max

Qualifying: Edward Brand (46.21), Ash Hand, Josh Webster Heat winners: Brand, Webster, Matthew Parry, Billy Albone Repechage: Lewis Seville, Declan Jones, Elliott Griffiths, Luke Haynes

Final 1: Continuing his domination, Brand enjoyed a lights to flag victory. Parry was well placed to take 2<sup>nd</sup> when Albone and Webster clashed and fell back, then when Bill Cowley stopped with a thrown

S1 Web Link: http://www.s1series.co.uk



ROTAX

chain, Jack Dex and Alex Magee were elevated too. Results: Brand, Parry, Dex,

Results: Brand, Parry, Magee, Albone

Final 2: Brand only reached the chicane on his out lap, betrayed by his carburettor. Although the formation laps were red-flagged to give the drivers a telling off, repairs took too long. Parry, Albone and Hand emerged from the chaotic first corner as Shaun Slavin landed on top of a large cone – pictured below.



Haynes went out, Dex and Magee especially delayed. Dex was later penalised five places. Hand proved to have the legs, accelerating clear for a 3s win over Albone, whilst Parry fell as far as 6<sup>th</sup> but recovered to 3<sup>rd</sup>. Cowley stormed though to 7<sup>th</sup> but Spencer Barrow could only manage 11<sup>th</sup> after his earlier retirement. Results: Hand, Albone, Parry, Andy King, Jamie Dzyra



Ashley Hand, Junior Max

### ABkC Rotax Max

Qualifying: Mike Spencer (45.50), Luke Varley, Michael Simpson Heat winners: Spencer, Simpson, Varley

Repechage: Matthew Mason, Rikki Gordon, Devon Modell, Robert Browning

Final 1: Polesitter Spencer was forced to concede the lead to Varley, then succumbed to Simpson as well.





0101500

### CHAMPIONSHIPS

# **S1 Rotax National Championships**



Results: Varley, Simpson, Spencer, John Stewart, Dan Holland

Final 2: Varley lost his lead to Simpson by lap 4, whilst Spencer could do no more than keep a watching brief. Jack Whelan, Stefan Di Resta and Ross Wylie all failed to complete a lap, soon joined in retirement by Matthew Mason. Holland held off Stewart for 4<sup>th</sup>. Overcoming his TQ handicap with no laps on board, Tom Fawcett reached sixth.



Results: Simpson (above), Varley, Spencer, Holland, Stewart

### ABkC Rotax Max 177

Qualifying: David Hogg (46.51), Andy Gorton, Tim Penton, Luke Woodland

Heat winners: Penton, Woodland Final 1: Lucas Orrock sprang into the lead, with poleman Woodland just losing touch but regaining second when David Griffiths retired with a thrown chain. Round 1 dominator Harry Cockill reached 3<sup>rd</sup> but was penalised to 8<sup>th</sup>.



Results: Orrock (above), Woodland, Tom Holland, Andy Gorton, Penton

Final 2: Orrock was out ahead for 14 laps whilst Cockill was leapfrogging his rivals one by one before reeling in Orrock for a narrow victory. Holland fell from 3<sup>rd</sup> to 8<sup>th</sup> before being excluded for driving standards and Griffiths came up from the back to follow Woodland over the line. Results: Cockill, Orrock, Woodland, Griffiths, Gorton



The top three, Max 177

#### Rowrah Ramblings

Clutches were brought to timed qualifying open for inspection. After cleaning of any excessive grease (see below), the clutches were marked for the meeting, and if anyone needed to change a part, then it was done under supervision.



Sam Ward, who had topped MiniMax timed qualifying, was excluded from the meeting (in his absence) after the second final when his radiator system was found to be ineligible. Jay Goodwin was also excluded, but for driving standards.

The next Rotax round is on 13/14<sup>th</sup> June at Buckmore Park.

### Roundups

### TKM Rnd 2 @ Glan y Gors

Ash Robinson came out on top of a big fight with Oliver Hodgson in Junior TKM, whilst in the S1 Web Link: http://myweb.tiscali.co.uk/super1/

Extremes, Ryan Cole went one better than last time for the win. Steven Welsh lost his Senior 4stroke win through omitting a seal number on his card, gifting it to Adam Nichols. William Thomas kept up his winning tally in Junior 4-stroke, after vaulting past Cavan Corcoran early on. In a controversial final, Daniel Ticktum fell out of the lead, Jamie Caroline there to pick up the pieces.