



CHAMPIONSHIPS

S1 Rotax National Championships

Rowrah Rotax ABkC Championships Round 5



As the title bids hot up, Jordan King and Callum Bowyer shared the MiniMax wins, whilst Joe McKeand was left on his own as his rivals tangled in Junior Max. Chris Lock was fully on form in senior Max, and Paul Granger in DD2. Dan Holland recovered from a heat DNF to win the Max 177.

The torrential rain on Saturday eased on Sunday with most races on slicks.

ABkC MiniMax

Qualifying: Matthew Parry (59.18), Callum Bowyer, Harrison Scott. Heat winners: Scott, Parry.

Final 1: Jordan King had a good battle with Jack Marshall who had stormed up from a fifth row start. Front row sitter Bowyer fell down the order to ninth.

Results: King, Marshall, Danny Harwood, Shaun Slavin, Paul Hardy.

Final 2: Bowyer made a great recovery to steal the win from King, with Jake Dalton a lonely third.

Results: Bowyer, King, Dalton, Martyn Craig, Scott.

ABkC Rotax Junior Max

Heat winners: Ross Dougan, Andrew Richardson, Michael Epps, Spencer Barrow.

B Final: Tom Ingram, Daniel Tate, Adam Nolan, Neil Spencer.

A Final: Joe McKeand was out on his own after Ross Wylie and Bill Cowley tangled. Billy Albone shot up from the seventh row to challenge Joseph Reilly's second place.

Results: McKeand, Reilly, Albone, Richardson, Edward Brand.



Billy Albone, MiniMax

ABkC Rotax Max

Qualifying: Chris Lock (55.96), Dan Holland, Ian Mason.

Heat winners: Lock, Luke Caudle, James Greenway, Greg Moir. B Final: Stefan Di Resta, Mark Morrissey, Jamie Allison, Scott Robertson.

A Final: Lock finished a comfortable two seconds clear of a thrilling second place battle. James Duxbury was the biggest loser, falling off on the last lap, whilst Michael Taylor came out narrowly ahead of Holland. Results: Lock, Taylor, Holland, Greenway, Moir.

ABkC Rotax Max 177

Heat winners: Milan Mach, Lee Taylor, Jake Parsons. A Final: Recovering from a broken throttle cable in a heat, Dan Holland still managed to beat Florent Lambert to the flag. Results: Holland, Lambert, Taylor, Lucas Orrock, Parsons.

ABkC Rotax Max DD2



Amanda Lassu, DD2 Images courtesy TSR Productions

Qualifying: Michael Kent (56.10), Paul Granger, Steven Hopewell. Heat winners: Granger x 2. Final 1: Granger was in a class of his own, with Amanda Lassu an untroubled second. Results: Granger, Lassu, Kent, Matt Parker, Patrick Pearce. Final 2: Granger again flew away to victory, whilst Lassu had her hands full of a challenge from Kent throughout. Adam Murphy was a comfortable fourth. Results: Granger, Lassu, Kent, Murphy, Pearce.

Rowrah Rumblings

Driving standards were much improved with only four driving penalties and two technicals over the weekend.

S1 Web Link: http://www.s1series.co.uk

The next Rotax round is on 19 October at Three Sisters.

Roundups MSA Rnd 4 @ Larkhall

Mark Litchfield and Michael Simpson were again the dominant and drivers in KF1 KF2 respectively, whilst Chris Rogers suffered engine failure in KF1, although he'd been bested by Jonathan Walker in the first final. Sam Tordoff capitalised on Roger's misfortune in final two. In KF3, Carl Stirling and Jake Dennis shared the honours, with Macaulay Walsh storming up to a podium after a heat DNF. Rob Foster-Jones lost a little of his earlier dominant pace in the KF2 finals, Jack Harvey improving to third and second. Roy Johnson came out tops over his Cadet team-mates Charlie Robertson and James Armitage.

MSA Rnd 5 @ Whilton Mill

Congratulations to Mark Litchfield and Roy Johnson who have provisionally won the MSA British Kart Championship, and the ABkC S1 Cadet title respectively. It is Litchfield's fourth senior title, making him one of the most successful drivers on the British scene. For Johnson, it is his third major title this year. The inclement weather, combined with the new venue, made for an unusual form book early on, but not in KF1 where Chris Rogers and Litchfield took the honours. Carl Stirling won the first KF3 final, but the weather aided Taylor's successful challenge for the second. They will battle it out for the title at the Simpson's winning last round. streak came to an end in KF2, with a fairly disastrous day, leaving the wins to be both claimed by Ben Cooper from Jake Ball. Lindsay Butcher's early promise faded with off's in both finals. A frantic battle between Ben Barnicoat and Roy Johnson resolved in the formers favour in the Cadet class.