Ginetta MSA/TKM Super One Series Round 7: Whilton Mill 8/9 October 2011 Ginetta MSA Junior British Kart Championship

Callan O'Keeffe clinched the 2011 MSA Junior British title with a steady fourth place in the first final, the hard work having been carried out earlier in the year. From his front row position he fell to fourth at the start with George Russell punching into a lights to flag victory, chased all the way by Racing Steps Foundation supported Ben Barnicoat. A further fall to sixth meant O'Keeffe had to claw his way back, reaching third but surprised by a pass from Connor Jupp at the last corner. "It's a great feeling to be champion," said the now British domiciled South African youngster who then decided to miss the second final. In that race an early lunge took Barnicoat past Russell, the lead then traded between that pair and Roy Johnson until Russell again established an unassailable gap to Barnicoat. Johnson kept the pressure up from third, with Harrison Scott capitalising on a good start for fourth. Jupp fell out of contention with an overshoot, leaving Nathan Aston fighting past Alex Gill for fifth.

ABkC Comer Cadet National Championship

From the first final pole Ryan Anderton headed Hugo Bently Ellis with the rest trying to catch up. Daniel Ticktum clawed his way back from a poor start, but before half distance he was trading the lead with Anderton. Alex Stott was now in third but had to give way to Shanaka Clay in the last lap shuffle whilst Anderton fell to fourth. Jamie Caroline had been excluded from a heat for a loose exhaust and managed to get to eleventh only to be excluded once more, this time for working in parc ferme to replace a missing air trumpet. Front runner Dean MacDonald was earlier excluded from the meeting for an exhaust gasket modification but has appealed for the sake of his championship standing. For the second final Ticktum and Stott vied for the lead with Cameron Roberts, William Taylforth and Clay joining the party. With an astounding drive through, Caroline came from the back and leapfrogged into the lead. He threw off a challenge from Anderton which let Ticktum into second. But the Fusion team mates clashed at the top corner, and again on the last lap when Ticktum was spun off by Anderton and fell to thirteenth. Anderton was excluded, and Ticktum's one place upgrade was enough to give him the title by a point over Caroline. In the race, Clay inherited second over Josh Smith, Stott and Taylforth.

ABkC Super Cadet

Despite the small grid, the fight was fierce although Harrison Thomas was denied his chance when his engine oiled up. Matteo Zanetti, Owen Griffiths and Mikey Doble all played hard until Griffiths and Zanetti tangled, spreading the karts out and leaving Doble with a big lead which was narrowed down by Griffiths on his recovery drive. Zanetti was later penalised three places. The second final was a runaway victory by Griffiths with Thomas coming up to second well clear of the big third place fight between Felix Meek and Doble. Despite his many wins, an earlier meeting exclusion meant Griffiths could not challenge for runner up in the title race, already won by Billy Monger, so Thomas came away as vice-champion.

ABkC Junior TKM National Championship

With the championship on a knife edge, Danny Keirle's poor start in the first final from the front row was disastrous, and by the time he had worked into third, Toby Sowery and Jake Walker were well away. Daniel Burton also proved faster and relieved Keirle of third leaving the latter to fight off Ryan Green. Sowery pulled a huge eight second gap over Walker. Keirle had found more pace for the second final but again by the time he reached second, Sowery had an unassailable lead to take the title over Keirle and the win. Keirle fought with Walker and salvaged second, whilst Burton and Green were strung out behind.

ABkC TKM Extreme National Championship

Although Joe Porter held a healthy points lead, the fight for the next few places was very open. A multi kart crash in the second heat sidelined Ashley Jones and Josh Waring, whilst Porter failed to finish that heat but would soon vault into third over Alex Thomas in the first final. Michael West and Luke Graver swapped the lead until West made a move stick, Porter taking advantage to sneak into second. Thomas was unlucky to break down on the last lap whilst Bartlett held fourth and Jones charged from the back to fifth. Graver stopped on the second final's formation lap, West took the lead over a fast starting Jones until Porter charged past then relieved West of the lead. But Porter failed to escape and when West challenged Porter settled for fourth and the title, leaving Jones as runner-up over Josh Johnson.

Formula KGP

Championship leader Michael Simpson missed all of Saturday as he was racing GT sportscars at Silverstone, and a first lap crash put him out of his only heat so he would start dead last. Mark Litchfield put his hand up to causing a crash in the other heat and suffered an exclusion but he won the other heat. So it was Tom Fawcett who dominated the first final, although Simpson charged up magnificently to snatch second from Denis Gorman. Bobby Game had earlier taken second from James Gornall, but they fell back to fourth and fifth whilst Litchfield came up to sixth. Now fairly assured of the title, Simpson charged past Gorman on the opening lap of the second final, then sliced up the inside of Fawcett to lead to the end. Litchfield kept up his progress by leapfrogging Fawcett and Gorman for second but it was only enough for third in the points behind Fawcett.

Results

KF3 Final 1 1 George Russell Intrepid 2 Ben Barnicoat Topkart **3 Connor Jupp Energy** 4 Callan O'Keeffe Alonso 5 Matthew Graham Zanardi Final 2 1 Russell 2 Barnicoat 3 Roy Johnson Tonykart 4 Harrison Scott Intrepid 5 Nathan Aston Intrepid 6 Alex Gill Wright Final Standings (Provisional) 1 Callan O'Keeffe 574 2 Roy Johnson 561 3 Ben Barnicoat 557 4 Connor Jupp 510 5 Matthew Graham 505

Cadet Final 1

1 Daniel Ticktum Zip 2 Shanaka Clay Zip 3 Alex Stott Zip 4 Ryan Anderton Zip 5 William Taylforth Zip Final 2 Jamie Caroline Zip
Clay
Josh Smith Zip
Taylforth
Hugo Bently Ellis Zip
Final Standings (Provisional)
Daniel Ticktum 551
Jamie Caroline 550
Shanaka Clay 542
William Taylforth 494
Lando Norris 494

Super Cadet Final 1

Mikey Doble Wright
Owen Griffiths Wright
Felix Meek Tonykart
Final 2
Griffiths
Harrison Thomas RK
Meek
Final Standings (Provisional)
Billy Monger 588
Harrison Thomas 530
Matteo Zanetti 521
Matthew Taylor 515
Owen Griffiths 494

Junior TKM Final 1

1 Toby Sowery Tonykart 2 Jake Walker Wright 3 Daniel Burton Tonykart 4 Danny Keirle Jade 5 Ryan Green Tonykart Final 2 1 Sowerv 2 Keirle 3 Walker 4 Burton 5 Green Final Standings (Provisional) 1 Toby Sowery 566 2 Danny Keirle 564 3 Jake Walker 554 4 Jack Partridge 505 5 Ryan Green 500

TKM Extreme Final 1

1 Michael West Tonykart

2 Joe Porter Tonykart 3 Luke Graver Tonykart 4 James Bartlett Tonykart 5 Ashley Jones Jade Final 2 1 West 2 Jones 3 Josh Johnson Tonykart 4 Porter 5 Ash Crossey Tonykart Final Standings (Provisional) 1 Joe Porter 551 2 Joshua Waring 532 3 Michael West 521 4 Ashley Jones 515 5 James Bartlett 500

Formula KGP Final 1

1 Tom Fawcett Birel 2 Michael Simpson Birel 3 Denis Gorman Maranello 4 Bobby Game Birel 5 James Gornall Intrepid Final 2 1 Simpson 2 Mark Litchfield Birel 3 Gorman 4 Fawcett 5 Gornall Final Standings (Provisional) 1 Michael Simpson 521 2 Tom Fawcett 506 3 Mark Litchfield 494 4 Denis Gorman 492 5 Jake Hughes 462