





Glan y Gors TKM ABkC Championships Round 1

Luckily the late snow on Thursday was washed away on Friday morning, with good weather the weekend prospect. Dragon Kart Club welcomed the series back to the North Wales GYG circuit, providing some excellent, close and competitive racing. The top of the hill was an especially popular overtaking spot, providing plenty of excitement. The 2010 format is now three heats and two finals, all providing points for the championship. Regrettably the Junior 4-stroke class has been dropped this year, but there were good sized grids in all the others and many rookie drivers. especially in the Honda Cadet class.

Tal-Ko ABkC Formula Jnr. TKM

Heat winners: James Peace, James Raven, Ash Robinson Final 1: Rookie Oliver Basey-Fisher joined poleman James Peace on the front row and he would set fastest lap maintaining his start place, with another rookie, Matt Davies coming through for the win, Peace and Robinson having to be content with third and fourth after losing out at the start.

Results: Davies, Basey-Fisher, Peace, Robinson, Danny Keirle Final 2: Peace regained the initiative over James Raven in a close-run four way battle, with Stephen Letts up to fourth. Daniel Burton stormed through from the back to finish an excellent fifth. Results: Peace, Raven, Basey-Fisher, Letts, Burton

Tal-Ko ABkC TKM Extreme

Heat winners: Randal Lynn, Phil Smith x 2



Final 2 winner Ryan Cole Final 1: The experienced Joe Porter earned pole but it was

veteran Charlie Bruce-White from a row behind who took a hard earned win over Lynn, whilst Porter fell to sixth. Ryan Cole reached fifth after being taken off in his first heat, whilst Smith was seventh after his earlier technical exclusion. Rob Wallace was excluded.

Results: Bruce-White, Lynn, Scott Chaney, David Eadon, Cole

Final 2: Regrettably the red flag flew when leader Bruce-White and Lynn collided. Neither finished, leaving the way open for a win by Cole in a three way battle with Porter and Smith, so it is Porter who leads the points table.

Tal-Ko Formula TKM 4-stroke

Heat winners: Joel Saunders, Michael West, Luke Graver Final 1: West converted pole into a win over Michael Rich and William Thomas, but only after Emyr Honeybun came off on the first lap, then Adam Nicholls suffered the same fate later with Carla Wellings excluded. Results: West, Rich, Thomas,

Graver, Sam Lloyd Final 2: Rich had the upper hand over Graver, West, Honeybun, Miles Murphy and Adam Nichols in a long train of karts, all ducking and diving and swapping places. Results: Rich, Graver, West, Honeybun, Murphy

ABkC Honda Cadet

Heat winners: Dave Wooder, Billy Monger x 2

A Final: Monger, Wooder and Luke Knott converted their grid positions into podium positions, whilst Dino Lee made up six places to fourth.

Results: Monger, Wooder, Knott, Lee, Robbie Gallier

Final 2: Knott trailed Monger nose to tail the entire race, whilst Wooder had to be content with a distant third. Jack Evans starred with his drive from grid nineteen to sixth.

Welsh whispers

Sophie Lanc was handed a £150 fine and a third heat exclusion after some retaliatory barging on

S1 Web Link: http://www.s1series.co.uk

the way in. The black flag had some judicious use for stop-go's. Phil Smith, Joel Saunders and Rob Wallace were amongst those with underweight exclusions. Smith won his other two heats. Simon Vercoe had a driving exclusion and an underweight.

Unfortunately the (optional) onboard cameras are still stuck in a warehouse, but should be all available by the next round. Enough were on hand for the TV coverage, due out on MotorsTV first on 19 April and eagerly anticipated.

The next round is at Rowrah on 15/16 May. And remember the TKM O Plate at Shenington on 17/18 April.

Round-ups

MSA Rnd 1 @ Shenington

Max Vaughan and Tom Harvey dominated the two Cadet finals whilst in KF3 it was Jake Dennis and Jake Dalton out front, Dennis Dalton both pipping times. Foreign drivers are being attracted to the series like nothing before, and despite never having seen Shenington before, the Dane Jacob Nortoft took top KF2 honours. Mark Litchfield's runs to the chequer in Super KF were aided when his greatest rival, Jordan Chamberlain, failed to Full details finish. on http://www.s1series.co.uk/10M 1 Shen.htm

Rotax Rnd 1 @ PF International

George Russell recovered from missing timed qualifying to storm to two MiniMax victories, whilst Matthew Parry dominated in Junior Max. Michael Simpson suffered two early setbacks, but came through valiantly to pip his teammate and first final winner Ed Brand to the second final victory. Lucas Orrock got his Max 177 season off to a great start with two wins. Full details on http://www.s1series.co.uk/10R 1 PFI.htm